Is my Kid Stupid – Avoiding an Educational Disaster


Interview with Author : Nzingha West

Interview with Author : Nzingha West

Interview with Author : Nzingha West

ADD-ADHD

1) Tell us about your book Is My Kid Stupid?

Is My Kid Stupid? Was written as an empowerment tool for families who have children. It’s a short read, and it was meant to give concise, specific information that would ultimately benefit the child and parent. The book teaches parents how to advocate for your own child, how and where to get free services for your child. It also teaches families how to get a free private school education for their children.

 2) How did you get into the field of working with special needs?

I became a teacher first, and after seeing how most children with mild-moderate special needs were being neglected, I took it upon myself to educate myself and become more aware of how to help.

 3) What was the inspiration behind writing and presenting the book “Is My Kid Stupid”?

My biggest inspiration was the parents who would seek my help. I figured that I could be of assistance to so many more parents by just putting everything down on paper, and showing them the ways they could be of assistance to their children with or without professional help.

 4) What qualifications do you need to become an Instructor working with children with special needs?

To become a tutor, you really don’t need any qualifications. However, it is more than beneficial to someone to become licensed as a teacher. I find that because I have a background in both the sciences and education, I am better apt to deal with certain details of my work on a daily basis. Plus to become a teacher, you have to be fingerprinted and have a background check performed in you. This leads to credibility and allows you to have a better grasp on how to cope with a child’s moods.

 5) Did you experience writers block? If so, what did you do to get rid of it?

I can’t really say that I did experience writers block. My book is a nonfiction book, so there really weren’t any characters that I had to develop.

 6) What are you working on now?

As of right now, I am considering writing another book. It’s just a spark in my mind. I have yet to sit down and put a pen to paper and write.

 7) You work for an organization called Urbane Academics; can you explain a bit more about what you do?

I own a practice called Urbane Academics and through my practice I offer instruction, cognitive behavioural therapy, special education advocacy, as well as diagnostic testing and teacher training.

 8) Had you previously written anything?

Other than a few college papers, before Is My Kid Stupid? Avoiding an Educational Disaster, I hadn’t written anything.

 9) Do you have a personal experience dealing with children with special needs as I am somebody who has grown up in a family where 3 members have a special need?

Other than my work as an instructor and advocate, I cannot say that I have a personal experience with learning disabilities. Nevertheless, that did not decrease my interest in and love for my work.

 10) During the writing process, what was one high and low that you encountered?

The editing process was brutal. It is very disheartening to have someone tear apart your work, even if it is for the better good. One high I had was seeing my book cover completed. Some people didn’t get it, but I was able to visualize what I was trying to write about and that was worth the hassle.

 11) How did you get into writing? Did you always want to become a writer?

I never wanted to become a writer, however, I became so enthralled in the thought of having a book, and writing a book that would be of some use, that I couldn’t sleep without writing down outlines, or thinking of titles.

 12) What are your views on the rise of autism aspects throughout children as even in New Zealand it is becoming more and more common among children etc.?

I think that people are recognizing more and more that not everyone operates the same way. This is a good thing, because the more we are able to recognize people’s differences, the better we become at understanding.

Autistic children, just like all other children are people too and they deserve the same amount of respect and understanding as every child.

 13) Do you in America have a strong support for children with Disabilities as I know in New Zealand probably due to its smaller size , we have got a couple of support groups and funding etc. , what is available in America ?

We have more and more support every day. The media definitely supports learning disabilities, and with the rise of the internet, more and more resources are becoming available to help cope with diagnosis and treatment. Parents are also using websites like meetup.com to facilitate their own support groups.

 14) How have you found the response of your book among parents with children having special needs?

For the most part people have been accepting and excited about the book. I’ve received lots of great comments. I have also received some poor comments about the tone of the language in the book, or the title etc. For the most part those people have been few and far between. Many people have been able to ascertain the meaning of the book through the illustration on the front cover.

 15) As somebody who is familiar with children with special needs, some of them are pretty amazing and can do some awesome things; do you have an inspiring story or a fun tale that stands out in your mind that you wouldn’t mind sharing?

When I first began specializing in children who have learning disabilities, I came across a student who had a lot of anxiety, but was so talented with his painting and illustration. I asked him to draw a picture for me, which I still have. He felt great, and I appreciated the beautiful artwork he created for me.

I find that autistic children are so talented and spectacular.

11 thoughts on “Is my Kid Stupid – Avoiding an Educational Disaster

  1. If you desire to increase your know-how just keep visiting this website and be
    updated with the hottest gossip posted here.

  2. whoah this weblog is magnificent i like studying your posts.
    Stay up the good work! You understand, many people are hunting round for this information, you
    can help them greatly.

  3. I simply want to mention I’m all new to blogs and really liked this web-site. Most likely I’m going to bookmark your site . You surely come with good well written articles. Kudos for revealing your web-site.

  4. I just want to tell you that I am just beginner to blogging and site-building and certainly enjoyed this web blog. Almost certainly I’m going to bookmark your site . You surely have very good writings. Cheers for sharing your web-site.

  5. When I originally commented I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new
    comments are added- checkbox and now whenever a comment
    is added I receive 4 emails with the exact same comment.

    Perhaps there is an easy method you are able to remove me from that service?
    Thanks a lot!

  6. Just wish to say your article is as surprising.
    The clearness in your post is simply cool and i could assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your permission allow me to grab your RSS feed to keep up to date with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the rewarding work.

Reply With Real Name

